Quick Answer: What Does Lower 48 States Mean?

Spread the love

What was the 1st state?

DelawareList of U.S.

statesStateDate (admitted or ratified)1DelawareDecember 7, 1787 (ratified)2PennsylvaniaDecember 12, 1787 (ratified)3New JerseyDecember 18, 1787 (ratified)4GeorgiaJanuary 2, 1788 (ratified)46 more rows.

How big is the lower 48?

3,119,884.69 square milesContiguous United States (Lower 48): 3,119,884.69 square miles (8,080,464.3 km2) Alaska: 663,268 sq mi (1,717,856 km2)

Is Australia bigger than mainland USA?

United States is about 1.3 times bigger than Australia. Australia is approximately 7,741,220 sq km, while United States is approximately 9,833,517 sq km, making United States 27% larger than Australia.

What is considered lower 48 states?

(US, geography) The contiguous continental states area of the United States of America, comprising 48 states in number, and the District of Columbia, excluding Alaska and Hawaii.

What 2 states are not in the lower 48?

It includes 49 of the 50 states (48 of which are located south of Canada and north of Mexico, known as the “lower 48 states”, the other being Alaska) and the District of Columbia, which contains the federal capital, Washington, D.C. The only state which is not part of this is Hawaii (as they are islands in the Pacific …

Is California part of the lower 48 states?

Two of the states – Alaska and Hawaii – are not part of the lower 48 states. This is because Alaska is separated by British Columbia, Canada, and Hawaii is an island….Lower 48 States 2021.State2021 Pop.California39,613,500Colorado5,893,630Connecticut3,552,820Delaware990,33444 more rows

Is Alaska in Conus?

CONUS = The 48 CONtiguous States and the District of Columbia or “the lower 48, as they’re affectionately known to the Alaskans.” … Alaska, Hawaii and the U.S. territories are considered overseas under the Space-A Regulation.

What are the 52 states in the US?

The United States of AmericaAlabama.Alaska.Arizona.Arkansas.California.Colorado.Connecticut.Delaware.More items…

What does it mean to live in the lower 48?

The “lower 48” is an American colloquialism that refers to all the contiguous states of America (including Washington D.C.) except non-contiguous Alaska and Hawaii.

Is Texas a contiguous state?

The term “contiguous states” refers to the 48 states that are on the North American continent and which are connected without being split by a body of water or another country….Contiguous States 2021.State2021 Pop.South Carolina5,277,830South Dakota896,581Tennessee6,944,260Texas29,730,30044 more rows

Why is it called the Lower 48 states?

“Lower 48” means lower numerically as in the first 48 states to join the union. Alaska being the 49th state and Hawaii the 50th state. This is convenient way to denote the 48 contiguous states of the USA for various purposes such as shipping rates, weather, etc.

What 2 states are not part of the continental US?

The terms exclude the non-contiguous states of Alaska and Hawaii, and all other off-shore insular areas, such as American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, Guam and Puerto Rico.

Why is Alaska different?

Alaska has more coastline than the rest of the U.S. combined (more than 34,000 miles). … Alaska is the only state to have coastlines on three different seas: the Arctic Ocean, Pacific Ocean, and Bering Sea.

What state is not in the United States?

HawaiiOnly Hawaii is not part of the continental United States, being an island chain in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *